This past summer from June 13 - July 1, eighteen teachers from Aiken, Allendale, Edgefield and Barnwell counties were selected to participate in the first CSRA HUB Curriculum Leadership Institute. The Institute was held at the Ruth Patrick Science Education Center at USC-Aiken. Participants were selected based on a portfolio submitted of their best instructional work and through an interview process.

The teachers were involved in modeling effective classroom teaching techniques and deepening personal knowledge to further enhance their professional development. Each participant was asked to present a 60 minute, hands-on, grade-specific lesson in math or science. Topics ranged from teaching symmetry to kindergarten students, to demonstrations using the concepts of weighted average and balance point to find the population center of the United States, to collecting resistance data in electric networks. Following each lesson was a discussion/reflection period where participants analyzed the demonstrations and reflected on what made the lesson an effective teaching tool.

In addition to the demonstration lessons, other sessions such as inquiry-based activities, alternative assessment, and technology in the math and science classroom were also conducted. A session on Global Positioning Systems was presented at Westinghouse Savannah River Site.

Cathy Scott, current South Carolina Teacher of the Year, shared details of their International Student Space Simulation program at Lexington High School.

The Institute concluded with the teachers and some of their administrators participating in a four-day Leader 1 2 3 seminar. The Leader 1 2 3 seminar, through simulations and performance coaching, is designed to develop further leadership skills that teachers identify in self-assessment activities as essential to the improvement of math and/or science programs.

The Curriculum Leadership Institute was the first to be presented in the thirteen HUBS established across South Carolina as part of the Statewide Systemic Initiative. Follow-up sessions are planned for this school year and next summer.

Participating in the institute were teachers from the following schools: Jonna Adcox, Kelly Edwards Elementary; Emily Allen, Allendale Fairfax High; Richard Borst, Silver Bluff High; Michelle Cain, Merriwether Middle; Valerie Cave, Allendale Primary; Bridget Coleman, New Ellenton Middle; Amy Denty, Kelly Edwards Elementary; Melissa Franzone, North Augusta Elementary; Cynthia Holder, Busbee Elementary; M. Lanelle Kohn, MIMS HUB; Gale Kumula, AL Corbett Middle; Valerie Price, Busbee Elementary; Karey Santos, Millbrook Elementary; Barbara Sproull, South Aiken High; Laurie Swift, JD Lever Elementary; Patricia Tarrant, North Augusta Elementary; Janet Watkins, Allendale Fairfax High; and, Henrietta Youmans, Allendale Elementary.

Back to August 1994 Table of Contents

Comments to Rpsec@aiken.sc.edu

URL: http://rpsec.usca.sc.edu/Newsletter/Aug94/csra.html (August 1997)