Lesson: Animal Classification
Background: This is a lesson that is part of a unit on Animals.  I teach third grade and I have 21 students. This is part of a lesson on Animal Classification with the main focus on Mammals

 Animals have distinctive characteristics that allow you to classify them into certain groups . For example,  Mammals have four character traits that makes classification easier.
have fur or hair covering their body 

breathe air with lungs 

give birth to live young 

feed young with mother's milk

 There are many kinds of mammals. Sometimes they are placed into groups based on traits they have in common.
Some of the traits that are used to classify mammals into groups are:  the presence of wings, trunks, and pouches.
The three main  subclasses of mammals are:

 Mammals that give birth to live young are grouped into two groups: Placental Mammals and Marsupials

Placental Mammals:  The young of Placental Mammals develop inside the mother's body and are nourished by a saclike organ called a placenta.  The young are well developed at birth.  Most mammals , including humans are placental mammals.

Marsupials:  These mammals are often referred to as "pouched mammals."  Young marsupials do not develop in the mother's body.  They are born tiny, hairless and blind.  Soon after birth, the young move into the mother's pouch, where they receive nourishment and complete their development.

Monotremes: The most primitive in the mammal group.  These mammals lay eggs instead of giving live birth.  Like other mammals they have hair and produce milk for their young.  There are only 3 species of monotremes - the Duckbilled Platypus, and 2 species of Echidna otherwise known as "spiny anteater."

For more information , click here

Go Home

http://rpsec.usca.sc.edu/classwork/731sp2002/lesson/ flanagan/flanagan2.html (January, 2002)
The views expressed on this page are not necessarily those of the University of South Carolina.